Cisco Houston Web Site


Original Folkways Recordings

Legacy CD 463

No Date

Track Listing

Woody Guthrie:

  1. Brown Eyes (with Cisco Houston)
  2. Jack Hammer Blues (with Cisco Houston and Sonny Terry)
  3. John Henry (with Cisco Houston)
  4. House of the Rising Sun
  5. Little Black Train
  6. Who's Going to Shoe Your Pretty Feet (with Cisco Houston)
  7. Bed On The Floor (with Cisco Houston)
  8. Danville Girl, No. 2 (with Cisco Houston)
  9. Ride Old Point (sic) (with Cisco Houston)

Pete Seeger:

  1. Michael, Row the Boat
  2. Big Rock Candy Mountain
  3. I've Been Working on the Railroad
  4. Down in the Valley
  5. Blue Tail Fly
  6. Boll Weevil
  7. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
  8. The Fox
  9. Casey Jones


  1. How Long (with Sonny Terry)
  2. I've Got A Pretty Flower (with Josh White)


Jim Clark

A bargain CD with the mystical capitalization and song titles of such endeavors. However, it gathers some pretty good performances from back then, and though I sure would rather listen to Cisco without Woody, these are well-chosen. Can be heard elsewhere, but the quality is reasonable and price is cheap.

We welcome any suggestions, contributions, or questions. You send it, we'll consider using it. Help us spread the word. And the music. And thanks for visiting.