Cisco Houston Web Site


Muleskinner Blues


Asch Recordings, Volume 2

Track Listing:

  1. Muleskinner Blues
  2. Wreck of the Old 97
  3. Sally Goodin'
  4. Little Black Train
  5. Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet?
  6. Baltimore to Washington
  7. Rubber Dolly
  8. 21 Years
  9. Sowing on the Mountain
  10. Bed on the Floor
  11. Take a Whiff on Me
  12. Stepstone
  13. Put My Little Shoes Away
  14. Hen Cackle
  15. Poor Boy
  16. Stackolee
  17. Johnny Hart
  18. Worried Man Blues
  19. Danville Girl
  20. Rye Straw
  21. Crawdad Song
  22. Ida Red
  23. Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy
  24. Train 45


Jim Clark

Cisco is the clear backup on these, helping his more famous friend get these tracks recorded, but does it with verve and gusto. This release includes an absolutely brilliant guitar solo on Baltimore to Washington. I cannot believe that he performed this, as it seems far better than any other performance I've heard of his, incluing a later one on the same song. But I communicated with Dr. Guy Logsdon who assures me this is his playing. One can only wonder what happened--while Cisco was certainly a competent guitarist, and periodically a very good one, nothing I've heard compares to this.


Another in the Smithsonian series of releases of the Asch recordings, complete with stupendously comprehensive notes and analysis by Dr. Guy Logsdon. Traditional songs, rather than originals, laid down in a hurry by guys who were not sure how much longer they had to live.

We welcome any suggestions, contributions, or questions. You send it, we'll consider using it. Help us spread the word. And the music. And thanks for visiting.