Cisco Houston Web Site


Mojo Magazine

Born in the USA Volume 1 (The Great American Songbook)

This CD accompanied a 2006 issue of Mojo Magazine.

Track Listing

  1. Hank Williams - You Win Again
  2. The Doc Watson Family - I Heard my Mother Weeping
  3. Leadbelly - Midnight Special
  4. Woody Guthrie - Washington Talking Blues
  5. Jelly Roll Morton - The Story of I'm Alabama Bound
  6. Odetta - Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  7. Josh White - I Had to Stoop to Conquer You
  8. Son House - Empire State Express
  9. Sonny Terry And Brownie McGhee - Screamin' and Cryin' Blues
  10. The Greenbriar Boys - I'm Comin Back But I don't Know When
  11. The Stanley Brothers - Man of Constant Sorrow
  12. New Lost City Ramblers - Keep on the Sunny Side
  13. Ian and Sylvia - You Were on my Mind
  14. The Gosdin Brothers - There Must be a Someone
  15. Cisco Houston - Deportees

Of Interest:

A British magazine looks at some glorious American roots music, and Cisco makes the cut!


Jim Clark

I've not heard the whole CD, but know most of these artists and many of these songs. Looks like a splendid compilation!.

We welcome any suggestions, contributions, or questions. You send it, we'll consider using it. Help us spread the word. And the music. And thanks for visiting.